About the ECT

The Ecological Continuity Trust was formed in 2008, as a direct response to the loss of long-term experiments (LTEs) throughout the UK. We support LTEs by providing much needed funds through our grants scheme and emergency repair funds. We have also established a network of key stakeholders that help champion LTEs and the valuable science they produce. Find out about our LTE User Group here.

Our vision is to develop a strategic network of long-term ecological experiments. This includes safeguarding existing high quality experiments and data, whilst also ensuring new facilities are planned for the long-term. The vision extends into then ensuring that experimental field ecology is at the heart of evidence-based policymaking and sustainable land use.



Getting in Touch

Our community is important to us, so we are always happy when people get in touch.

To reach us:

  • E-mail us

  • Tweet us

  • Mail us: Ecological Continuity Trust, Manor House, Little Wittenham, Abingdon, Oxon OX14 4RA


Meet the Team


Jerry Tallowin, Chair of Trustees

Jerry is an agricultural-ecologist and research fellow of Rothamsted Research. The main theme of Jerry's research has been the maintenance and restoration of grassland biodiversity in the UK and Europe.


Ben Sykes MRSB, Executive Director

Ben is a biologist by training, also with a Masters in science communication. He spent 22 years working with the UK Research Councils (BBSRC), including six years as Executive Director of the UK National Stem Cell Network (UKNSCN).


Dr Robin Buxton FCIEEM, Treasurer

Robin works to build capacity and professionalism in conservation organisations. He has worked with Wild Oxfordshire, the Earth Trust and the Chartered Institute of Ecology and Environmental Management (CIEEM).  

DSCN4912 (818x1024) cropped.jpg
IMG_2341 small.JPG

Prof Jonathan Silvertown, Trustee

Jonathan is Professor of Evolutionary Ecology at the University of Edinburgh. His research specialism is plant population biology, covering a wide range of topics. 

Carly stevens.jpg

Dr Carly Stevens, Trustee

Carly is a plant ecologist and soil biogeochemist at Lancaster University. She is interested in how global change is impacting on our environment, particularly the effects of atmospheric nitrogen deposition.


Prof Keith Goulding, Trustee

Keith is the Sustainable Soils Research Fellow at Rothamsted Research. His research guides policy on reducing the environmental impact of farming. He was recognised by the IPCC for his scientific contribution to the award of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize

Ali_Birkett Trustee Entry.jpg

Dr Ali Birkett, Trustee

Ali is an ecologist working in science communications at the Lancaster Environment Centre, Lancaster University. She is also a trustee of the British Ecological Society, a role through which she provides a collaborative link with the ECT.

Kadmiel Maseyk.png

Dr Kadmiel Maseyk, Trustee

Kadmiel is a plant ecophysiologist and terrestrial biogeochemist at the Open University. His research focus is on coupled carbon and water cycles and ecosystem responses to environmental variability and change.

Chas Holt.png

Dr Chas Holt, Trustee

Chas is a self-employed ecologist who specialises in ornithological projects with a conservation or research focus. He formerly worked at the British Trust for Ornithology, coordinated the BTO/RSPB/JNCC Wetland Bird Survey, and is also Secretary of the British Birds Rarities Committee.

Bridget Emmett.jpg

Prof Bridget Emmett, Trustee

Bridget is Head of the Centre for Ecology & Hydrology’s Bangor station in north Wales, and head of the Soils and Lands Use Science Area for CEH. Her research interests are focused on soil biogeochemical cycling and its implications for ecosystem structure and function.


Dr Victoria Cadman, Trustee

Victoria is a management and environmental consultant. She has a research background in environmental change in Arctic ecosystems.


Our Funders

We are grateful to these funders past and present for supporting our work:

The British Ecological Society, The Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, Natural England, The Patsy Wood Trust and individual donors.